25 fev 2013

Carta para a Host Family

Categoria: Au Pair is..., Dicas


Olá meninas, tudo bem?

Como vai o medo de escrever pra Host Family, preencher o application e afins?

Não é nenhum bicho de 7 cabeças, aliás é bem divertido escrever sobre si mesma, relembrar suas experiências, como se redigisse seu currículo para um novo e excitante trabalho… não tenha preguiça! É uma das mais importantes fases para que vc se torne uma Au Pair e te prepara para fases posteriores onde vc conversará com a família e tem que saber o que dizer e como dizer…

Vou postar a minha carta pra host family, é meio longa pois eu me empolguei demais escrevendo sobre minha vida a eles =)

Vc pode tirar pedacinhos que te interessem escrever sobre, copiar ela toda e mudar seus dados, fiquem a vontade… ela me ajudou a famílias ótimas me escolherem pois acho que me abri bastante quando a escrevi com todo carinho…

É bom para praticar i inglês também e nesse momento vc conta com a ajuda de tradutores on line, dicionários  e pode pensar no que vai falar…assim quando te ligarem ou fizerem skype com vc, vc já tem o que dizer na ponta da língua para arrasar no inglês e na resposta!

Só não invente dados, não minta ou omita coisas relevantes pois eles tem mania de te perguntar sobre isso ou aquilo que sabem de vc e vc não vai querer e nem pode ficar inventando mais mentiras mirabolantes sobre sua vida… então se prepare, seja objetiva e verdadeira e com certeza irão gostar muito da sua carta e de vc!

Boa sorte!

No site WWW.MYAUPAIRINAMERICA.COM  vc encontrará o campo Letter to the Host Family, clique aí e comece a falar:

This should be more than 600 words long. Things to include are:

  • Who you are (your family and friends)
  • What your hobbies and interests are
  • Discuss your childcare experience and the children you cared for. Explain why and how you enjoyed the experience and what you learned from it.
  • Tell them what you hope to gain from your experience on the program. What interests you about American families, children and culture?

This is your chance to show off your personality. so make it something you can be proud of.


Dear host family,

My name is Isabella Rocha and I’m 25 years old. I live in Itatiba, a medium city in São Paulo state, in Brazil, which has a little bit more than 100 thousand inhabitants; it is a city known by the hills and stones, here is a touristic and lovely place. I love to live here, because Itatiba is beautiful and it is near the big cities like Campinas and São Paulo, where I have access to a lot of entertainment.

I live with my mother, Fatima, she’s 56 years old, lovely and friendly and she runs her own store. My father is 55 years old, and he’s a salesman, he is a very funny man, companion and very responsible. I’m very connected with my family. I, my mother and grandmother do many things together every weekend. I talk to my father every day and I see him every week, because he lives in Campinas, a city nearby here. My parents are very friendly and understanding, but they are strict when the subject is education and good manners, that’s why I grew up very responsible and polite.

My family is very supporting about my trip to the U.S.A, as they know it’s going to be very important for my life, it’s very good to have an experience in another country. In this way, I can grow more as an independent person, improve my English and learn about your marvelous culture!

I had a very beautiful childhood, I had the opportunity of playing a lot with my cousins and friends on the streets and parks of the city because it was very safe and calm here. We used to play hide and seek, jump ropes, games with ball and ride bikes. I loved playing with them and that is the time I miss the most in my life. Besides that, my parents used to take me to different places, like different cities and entertainment parks. I always got along well with other children and nowadays, I still like a lot to play with kids. My friends have little children and I love to stay with them. When I’m with the kids, I play with them hide and seek, games with ball, read a story, watch cartoons, swim, drive them to the parks and I take care of them as they were my own children.

I usually spend my free time reading books, studying languages (that I love, I also speak Spanish and French), going to the swimming pool, riding a bike or walking, and on my weekends, I visit friends, go to the cinema to watch good films that I love such as comedies, drama, adventure and children’s films. I love to stay at home with my mom and talk, cook together, watch television, films and TV series.

I love to drive, I am very responsible and careful and I have never been in a car accident. I got my driver’s license when I was 18 years old, I have my own car and I feel comfortable to drive with kids, old people and anyone I have to take with me in the car.

I would describe myself as an open-minded, patient and outgoing person, my family and friends say that I´m very funny. I also appreciate cooking, sing and dance. I love to travel, no matter the place, I always enjoy the trip! In 2006, I went to Chile for a six months interchange of my University, and I loved the personal and academic experience I had there. I have always liked to study and I’m graduated in Social Communication by public University (UNESP – one of the bigger Universities in Brazil) and post graduated in Political Marketing (UGF). I could use the creativity, organization and methodology I have learned from college with children because I think creativity is very important to improve different learning and leisure activities.

I work nowadays in the City Hall of Itatiba, I organize Ceremonials and other events on my city. I usually visit and contact people, inviting them for events, for visiting my city and the major, invite for meetings or inaugurations, take pictures and write some releases about those happenings. I have to be always very polite and solicitous to do my work well because I work with a lot of authorities.

In 2008, I started one of the best experiences of my life. I took care of a lot of children in a day-care institute and a kindergarten. It was an incredible experience and I have learned a lot. The children in the day-care were 1-5 years old and they were from very poor families of my city Itatiba, there I used to do their hygiene, change diapers (babies), help them in the bathroom, play with them, and after all those things, I feed them and put them to sleep. They were very amorous and polite, I loved to wake up early and go to my work, it was very compensator.

In the kindergarten the children were 3-7 years old in one area and in the school area they started to be literate (6-7 years) and I helped them with the first books, reading, drawing, painting and writing their first words, it was amazing! We used to read together, play some creative games and create plays/theatres about we read. In the nursery area (0-3 years old) I used to take care of babies, change diapers, feed with baby’s botlle and play with them.

My neightbor Patricia, has 2 pretty sons, Marcelo and Daniel. I had an experience with Marcelo when he was only 6 months. I used to change his diapers, put to sleep, feed with baby’s bottle, tell him stories and play to stimulate his motor coordination. The older boy, Daniel, was 1 year and a half old when I took care of him, and he is very energetic, he plays a lot with me and always stayed near me. I enjoyed a lot to take care of them and I felt so good with their love and friendship.

The neighbor of my father has a son, Luan, that is 7 years old and he is a funny and adorable guy. He loves to play soccer and checkers, he is very intelligent. I loved to take care of him because he is a very active guy, so energetic and we always had a lot of activities to do and several difficult games to play, we used to go to the playground sometimes and swim in their swimming pool too. They live near my father’s house and I used to take care of him on my vacations because his parents have a snack bar and they work a lot, at night and on the weekends, this way I took care of him in my free time and when he has on vacation too.

In 2005, I worked in a Radio Station, in Bauru, where I did my graduation in UNESP University and made a program called UNESPINHA, which was about the children’s world. We offered to the children: tips of books, films, told them stories, curiosities, information about the animals, games and school, and interviewed some children. It was very funny and cute, I had a lot of pleasure on doing it!

I have decided to be an Au Pair because I hope this experience can help to improve my English skills and living, working and studying in USA would be great for my future career. I also would like to travel abroad and know more about American way of life, about the American culture and share experience with you. I think that would be fascinating to get to know about other country and culture while working, studying and living there. I want to do my best work and I would take care of your children as they were my own children. I want to give them all my care and knowledge and I would do it lovely and carefully.

Now I’m excited waiting for your contact, so then you can make my dream come true. I want to meet different places and a different way of life in your family, which will make part of my life and it will be unforgettable! Certainly we have a lot of good ideas and experiences to change.

Hope to hear from you soon!
Thank you!
Best regards,
God bless you!

Divirta-se redigindo a sua!!




  1. Larissa Pereira disse:

    Oi, Isabella, tudo bem? Me surpreendi ao ver que você é de Itatiba, pois eu também sou e tomei a decisão de ser Au Pair há pouco tempo, mas estou com o application por fazer já. Estou com algumas dúvidas, principalmente ao inglês… Já faço curso mas acho que precisarei de aulas particulares, você tem alguém pra me indicar? rs Agradeço desde já, beijos!

  2. Deyze disse:

    Isabella, sua carta é perfeita. Agora entendo bem o porque de tantas famílias terem ficado interessadas em você. Mostrou as suas qualidades e ao mesmo tempo mostrou uma carta simples e sincera, contando sobre suas experiências e sua família. Acho que agora tenho uma boa base para começar a minha. Obrigada pelas dicas :)

  3. Isabella Vieira disse:

    Isabella!! Faz tempo seu post mas tenho que agradecer porque consegui terminar a minha graças a sua ajuda e dicas! Adorei as frases como colocou, algumas são o mesmo sentimentos de nós todas então ficou bem mais fácil de eu saber que caminho seguir na minha carta.
    Muitíssimo obrigada pelas dicas 😀

    • Isabella disse:

      Olá minha xará de nome e sobrenome…hehehhe
      tbm sou Isabella Vieira =)

      adorei saber que te ajudei…boa sorte na sua jornada…beijoosss
      e venha sempre visitar!!

  4. Mayara disse:

    PERFEITA sua carta!

    Estou fazendo a minha e como nunca consigo terminar de uma vez, cada vez que vou escrever venho olhar a sua. Uma carta simples porém cheia de detalhes, o que enriqueceu mais ainda. To pegando a sua como modelo ok? haha

    Thanks, May

  5. Nayara disse:

    Adorei sua carta. Muito bem escrita e com ótimas frases que resumem bem o sentimento de quem já cuidou de criança!

    Espero que não se importe de eu pegar algumas coisas como exemplo.


  6. anne disse:

    muito completa a sua carta! ajudou demais! obrigada!

Leave your Commnet! para Nayara